glad THAT’s over!

Standard

Whew. Well, I did it. I ran that darn KCCC 5K. Okay, I sorta jog/walked it. I must say, I was so nervous before the whole thing I could barely eat, like in high school before a show choir performance when the entire day my stomach would flop around and my digestive system would go bananas. All day Saturday I reminded Craig how much I was dreading this thing. So Sunday, we got up at 5:30 AM and headed off for the park.

There had to of been 1000 people there, easy. I was thinking, surely I can beat some of them. Stomach flu and complete lack of preparation aside, I was betting on a somewhat repectable time, in the neighborhood of 30 minutes or so. I think it was mile 2 that my brain overpowered my body and convinced it that the torture was not worth it and I should just walk. So, I did. That is until I got near the end where everyone could see, then I started running again as if I had been the entire time. So I crossed the finish line, and I am not going to say how long it took, but I will say that I am pretty darn sure that I (from the youngest age bracket) was the last person from my company across the finish line, and furthermore I seriously doubt there was too many people my age behind me.

The most unfortunate thing is that the results are posted for all to see, and are archived for 5 years online for anyone to access. So if any of you are so inclined, in four years you could look up and see how pathetic I am.
Sigh. I am going to have to kick some butt at the swim meet to regain a shread of self-respect.


3 responses »

  1. Well, at least you can say you did it. I on the other hand keep saying I am going to excercise but find every excuse in the world not to. Were you 100% healthy by then?? I hope all is well now. Talk to you soon.

  2. I’m not sure I would ever qualify as 100% healthy :). I just saw the results and I was in the bottom 25%. So sure, I am happy to blame that on still being sick!!

Leave a Reply

