I’ll have a BLT, hold the bread…

Standard

Well, I am back home from my Nevada adventure. Not back at work yet, but at least back home. So how have I been entertaining myself while not at work? Well, I have been cleaning the house, napping, cooking nutritious meals, and last but not least- moping. Lots and lots of moping. Reason being, we have a decent guess of what is wrong with me. I know, I know.. I wasn’t going to share about this anymore. But I have to complain to somebody, and being home by myself leaves all of you.

I am currently on day four of a two week trial gluten-free diet. AND IT SEEMS TO BE WORKING. I should be happy right??? Four continuous days without nausea and stomach pain, I should be singing in the streets. And it’s not like I am not a little bit happy, I am a bit. It’s just that, as nice as it is to feel like a normal person, I can’t help but throw a pity party for myself. Do you know what foods DON’T have gluten in them? Four things- veggies, fruit, meat, and dairy. Throw out the last one and I am left with essentially three food groups, give or take a few items. Anyone who knows me well knows I am a bread freak. Panera is hands down my favorite place to grab a bite to eat. I am an expert cinnamon roll maker, if I do say so myself. I have always claimed my favorite food group is carbohydrates. Yesterday, amidst a bit of boredom, I decided to jot down a quick list of foods I need to avoid in the next few weeks, and I think I will share it here so everyone can feel appropriately sorry for me:

Oatmeal, Cream of Wheat, Malt O Meal, Toast, Donuts, Cereal, English Muffins, Bagels, Pancakes, Waffles, biscuits and Gravy, Cinnamon Rolls, coffee Cake, French Toast, Sourdough, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Hot Pockets, Rolls, Muffins, Ravioli, Spaghetti, ALL pasta, Mac and Cheese, Stuffing, Noodles and Sauce, Chicken Noodle Soup, Dumplings, Graham Crackers, Animal Crackers, ALL Crackers, Granola Bars, Bread Sticks, Pie, Cake, Cookies, Cookie Bars, Pop Tarts, Baklava, Pretzels, and last but not least- beer.

I may have missed a few, I was depressed enough to quit. I also made a list of foods I could eat but I didn’t put near as much heart into it:

Salmon, broccoli, eggs, potatos, bananas, beans, nuts, and water.

Thankfully, this isn’t a sure thing yet. I still have 10 more days within which symptoms could reappear. It really could be a fluke, and I still am waiting on results of other tests. So there is a glimmer of hope. But still- no ice cream and now no pie? Could the world be so cruel??

4 responses »

  1. oh, wow. I do feel sorry for you too.. but if it helps… and you feel tons better I guess you could get used to that diet.. What happens if you treat yourself everyonce in awhile??

Leave a Reply

