I’ll get by with a little help from from my friends…

Standard

With much urging from my spouse and some friends, I have decided to extend this little gluten-free “trial” another few months, just for kicks. There is slight evidence, which I say is purely coincidental, that this silly experiment may possibly be helping just a tiny bit. The most pressing issue at hand then, is that I AM WASTING AWAY. My winter fat reserves have started to disappear and I am not even exercising. I don’t care to look waif-like; I am not a fan of the ribs through the chest look. But you really can’t build up fat just eating veggies and fruit and eggs, so I need some help.

Please e-mail me, ASAP, with any recipes for junk food that don’t include flour. I am having a very difficult time here without my junk food. And don’t say rice crispee treats, I already thought of that. And chocolate candy bars, I though of that too. But what else is there?

I am not sure quite how to impress upon everyone the very urgent nature of this. Really though, how can one live without desert? You just can’t, it isn’t right- it isn’t normal. I need sugar. I must have sugar. Please, help me…

3 responses »

  1. Chocolate! Do Snicker bars have glutin? Then there is the endless supply of soft drinks (lots of calories, boring taste, and less filling). what about junk food like Summer Sausage. No glutin and lots of body producing fat. Smoked salmon might be considered snack food, but little calories. So it seems that Russell Stover has the edge for flavor and added weight.

  2. I am not sure on all your restrictions but does this one work??Fudge Brownies1 cup water1 teaspoon GF vanilla1/2 cup corn margarine1 cup sugar1/2 cup uncooked Cream of Rice hot cereal3 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa1 teaspoon GF baking powder1 egg or 1/4 cup cholesterol free egg product1/4 cup walnuts (optional)In a medium saucepan, heat the water and margarine to a boil. Sprinkle in the cereal. Cook for 1 minute. Remove the pan from the heat, cover it, and let it sit for 4 minutes. Stir in the egg or egg product and vanilla.In a medium bowl, combine the sugar, cocoa, and baking powder. Stir in the cereal mixture until well blended. Stir in the nuts, if used. Spread the mixture evenly in a greased 8 x 8 x 2 inch baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for 40-50 minutes. Cool and cut into 2-inch squares (This recipe can be doubled and baked in a 9 x 13 inch pan.).let me know if they turn out šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

