Pretty pictures

Standard




















Thought I would share a few pictures of some blooms from this spring. Before you ask, the werid looking spiky thing is Allium schubertii- a giant ornamental allium. I couldn’t tell you the name of the iris because I believe the variety I ordered was supposed to be orange. Or course, that was a couple years ago so I can’t prove anything but these are nice too. And yes, I know, I went a little heavy on the photo-shopping. A little to much blur, huh? I was trying to be artistic, and it is my general opinion that a little blur around the edges makes all of my pictures look a bit prettier. But yes, it’s overkill, I know.

I definitely have not had as much time as I would like to spend in the garden. Which means I am already growing some nice patches of weeds in with those veggies. I should share a shot of our perinneal garden sometime. I have a newfound respect for anyone who has had sucess with a perennial garden. I myself have had some problems. Things started off well enough- I drew out a nice plan, considering heights and textures and colors, and for the most part followed this plan I purchased my plants- with a few notable exceptions being any plant that is on sale at any store I happen to be at. I stuck the the golden rule of planting design- always buy in threes. The exception to this rule being a plant for a focal point, or of course any plant that is on sale that you might come across that you just have to have. One of the problems of planting in threes is that mother nature can’t count. Inevitably, two plants will die leaving one stranded. Or one plant is eating by rabbits leaving a hideous thing- an even number of plants. Or, in the spring, someone who doesn’t know the difference between a coneflower and a patch of weeds might yank up the young plants. (Unfortunatly, I can’t blame Craig for this one.) So what we are left with is a hodgepodge of miscellaneous plants that look nothing like the nice plan I envisioned. I have decided that if it makes flowers, it can stay in my garden- weed or not. So, that area pretty much looks like crap right now. But the iris are nice, right?

One response »

Leave a Reply

