A hairy situation

Standard

I really need my hair cut. And not just any cut- a stylish one. A cut that I can just wake up in the morning and brush my hair out and go and it will look awesome and not be up in a ponytail by 8:13 am. I used to have a cut like that, for maybe, oh, 3 days. And then it looked terrible again. It could be me and my lack of grooming, but right now I feel like blaming the stylist. After two years, I am ready to give someone else a shot with my long hairy mess. And this is the problem.

I have read many a women’s magazine while in doctor’s waiting rooms that give suggestions on how to break up with your hairstylist. I don’t really get this. Maybe I just don’t understand good social graces but can’t I simply just not go back? Just never call again- is that really so bad? To me, this is not on the level of dumping someone with e-mail or firing your babysitter- it’s just someone who cuts a few inches off my hair a few times a year while making polite conversation and pretending she finds me interesting. And yes, that should be worth something- but this is why I always tip. I seriously doubt that I will be out shopping someday and run into her and she will glare at me and say- “you never called!” and I will have to come up with some lame excuse such as “we moved”. But if so, wouldn’t that work? And wouldn’t it still be better than turning to her at the end of the haircut with a serious look, “We need to talk. This just isn’t working for me anymore. I’ve found someone else.”

I guess maybe that is the real problem. I haven’t found someone else. I don’t even know where to start. So I will likely go back and smile and make chit chat and pay an exorbitant amount for a haircut that looks good for a day and then invariably ends up stuck in a ponytail for the next 10 weeks. It sure was simpler as a child when dad would simply whack off a few inches of the bottom and call it good, and that was free.

One response »

  1. Well you could be as crazy as me and drive 2.5 hours to get your hair cut… after our wedding (a year and a half ago)I had my hair cut at the lake and it was one of the best haircuts I have ever had, so I kept going back. Well with gas prices now it costs be $60 in gas and $30 for a hair cut… I haven’t had my hair cut in 3 months and desperately need to find someone around here…

Leave a Reply

