Election Day is finally here!

Standard

This election has gotten pretty heated and I am so glad it is almost over. Craig and I voted this morning and it took only about 15 minutes, easy as pie. I felt really good walking out of there, and I have a feeling I am going to feel really good tonight as well. I haven’t kept it a secret that we are big Obama supporters and we are truly excited for this election.

So, I know about 90% of you want to throw rotten food at me right now, even though deep down you still love us crazy liberals right? I hope so! I know that my readership demographic is as red as Kansas so I thought I should let you all know that I even voted for some Republicans this morning, just not for president.

This election, I put a lot of myself into it. I really researched and went out of my comfort zone and dug deep into conservative blogs and message boards and news outlets to get both sides of the story and I went with an open mind as best I could. You know, for the most part, I found a lot of interesting, thoughtful commentary and compelling arguments. I came away with a lot more respect and understanding for why someone else could look at the same information I am and weigh it differently.

I am not ignorant, you are not ignorant, none of us are a “low information” voter as the pundits like to say. We are all well informed- we just don’t agree. And that is okay. I really and honestly do respect those who cast a different ballot than I did, I hope you respect me as well.

And by the end of this month Thanksgiving will be here and the awful political ads will be gone and all of us can gather around and be thankful for each other and share in the love, football, and good food- which is something we can all agree on.

(You guys wouldn’t really want to throw food at me though, right? Right?)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

