It’s how you look at it

Standard

Lately I’ve been lamenting how little time I have for all of the multiple things I want to do. I think my goals are too ambitious but when I stop and think about it, I do manage to cram quite a bit into one day. Yesterday I put in a full day of (extremely enjoyable) work, ran errands at the pet and grocery store, played with Devan outside, cooked a corned beef and cabbage Irish dinner, made two terrariums, hemmed two pairs of jeans, and worked on the layout of my third quilt. Oh, and I ironed shirts too.

Sure, I may not have finished the landscape plans I have promised others or made any artwork for the house. We didn’t go on any bike rides or make it to the library to pick up my holds. I didn’t pack up my winter clothes and Devan didn’t quite get a bath. But overall, I really just can’t complain.

The truth is this year has been going pretty great for us so far, excepting the last two weeks of February. We’ve both made an effort to concentrate on all of the good things going on rather than the tough stuff and you know what? It really seems to work. Not every day, but most days. I don’t think I have been this happy and content in quite awhile and I definitely chalk it up to attitude rather that circumstance. And if we can feel this happy now, I can’t wait to see what the rest of 2009 is like.

Leave a Reply

