Away we go

Standard

A little recap of this week.

Craig’s dad has his surgery on Thursday and all went well. Craig was even able to visit for all of 10 minutes before visiting hours ended at 6pm. My cousin’s husband finished his radiation and is now cancer free. Craig’s cousin has her surgery to remove cancer on the 11th. I hope the good news continues to roll in. For the rest of the year, we want everyone to have a very healthy 2010!!

We had our big ultrasound on Friday and everything looked great. With Devan we were sent to a level 2 ultrasound which was unsettling but this time- perfection!! I learned that the placenta is on the front of my stomach which has been cushioning most of the movement. No wonder I am just feeling very light kicks! Though I have noticed it has really picked up the past few days, Craig was even able to feel a kick. It has got to be one of the neatest feelings in the world.

And, in case you haven’t heard on Facebook, the baby is (most likely) a girl!! We were SO surprised, I can’t even tell you. It has taken a full day for this to sink in. I hope I know how to raise a girl, I will confess to being nervous about that! But I am getting excited too- I can teach her to quilt! And girl clothes are infinitely cuter than boy clothes. I know she will be precious and we will cherish her just as we have cherished Devan. IF she is, in fact, a girl. After numerous tries and two separate ultrasounds, baby was fairly modest. We never got that “money shot” but the tech assured us she was 95% certain it was a girl. She is going to double check next month and then we can break out the paint!! Bye to the blue nursery!

And on another exciting note, we are OFF!! I thought we would all near kill each other yesterday as we attempted to pack, but everyone seems to be in much better spirits today. Devan is pumped to ride on an airplane and see the ocean. Of course, he keeps talking about seeing whales in the ocean and I can’t help but think he is going to be disappointed on that account. Perhaps a sand crab or maybe an alligator.

See you all next week!

One response »

  1. Glad to hear for good surgeries and recoveries! Those are wonderful things to hear.AND CONGRATULATIONS! Oh my goodness a little girl! How exciting! You feel about a girl as how I feel about having a boy…I still haven't processed that idea yet. I'll have to deal with it soon!

Leave a Reply

