Just Mom, Part II

Standard

I suppose I should share how the story ends.

I stood at the bottom of the stairs and listened as Devan played in his room and three things occurred to me:

1. Devan is entertaining himself, and quietly.
2. I will have no success forcing him to nap.
3. I am grouchy and exhausted.

So instead of going up to talk to him, I returned to the living room and layed down to “rest”.

I woke up at 5:00pm (2.5 hours later), and the house was dead quiet. In a panic I sprung up and darted for his room only to discover this:

He’s a sweet kid, and just in a challenging phase where he doesn’t like a LOT of things, not just Mom. And I realize that I need to grow up and not take a two year-old’s insults so personally.

We had a wonderful rest of the weekend together- farmer’s market and garden tours, more new plants, hours upon hours outside working and playing in the yard, a tailgate and Wizards game, shopping at Carters for new pj’s, and playing at the Legends. He didn’t get put in timeout a single time and told me more than once that he loved me. And though Dad is still the clear favorite and gets requested for nearly every task, I think we are going to have a great summer together.

Leave a Reply

