Sometimes I make stuff

Standard

I actually made something the other day. Which involved going up to our 100 degree 4th bedroom where my sewing machine sits and sweating profusely while I tried to be creative. That room is a sauna when there air conditioner is working, let alone now. They are installing the heat pump as I type (with sticky hot fingers) so hopefully an end to this suffering is in sight (have I complained enough about the HVAC yet?).

So, I made something. Something cute, if I do say so myself. Cute despite the fact that I am a complete moron when it comes to sewing. Once upon a time my mom tried to teach me to sew but I was a belligerent young thing and would have none of it. All that lame sewing and gardening and cooking, why would I want to learn about any of that? I sure showed her, huh.

I truly am stupid when it comes to sewing. I don’t even know what those numbers on the needles mean and I have to consult my sewing maching manual or the internet about every 10 minutes to complete any project. I bought my machine for about $100 on Amazon and I don’t have a clue about what I would need in an upgrade. And yet I’ve managed to make a few quilts. It’s a miracle, I tell you.

So I got in it my head that since about 20+ friends and relatives are having babies this year, I would make something for each of them. A quilt would be lovely, but they typically cost around $100 and take about 20 some hours so I had to give up on that idea after the first three babies. I thought about bibs but I made a few and they were ugly and I figured maybe not every baby spits up like mine.

Onesies it is then, the ubiquitous baby gift. Every parent has more than they need, and yet I am going to give out more.

I tried to make these a little more attractive by going with a larger 9 month size (which should fit an average 4 month old if I finally have these sizes figured out), long sleeves and a monogram. Since most of these babies are second babies it seemed like something fun, as I personally have LOVED getting clothes for Leah.

One for baby Annaliese… One for Arianna… And one for Elaine…

I know I am forever claiming that the things I make are cuter in person, but these really are!!! Just have a girl baby soon and you will see for yourself.

I used a free font from the internet, an adhesive paper of some sort, sewed them down with a zig zag for good measure (don’t look too close) and then embellished with some really shoddy embroidery stitching and felt. One more thing, and I mean this from the bottom of my heart- if I can do it, anyone can.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

