Looking back

Standard

The spring break after we were married, Craig and I went on a mission trip to Ciudad Juarez, Mexico with all of these awesome people:


My family and many of our closest friends have traveled multiple times to Juarez to work on building this school in Anapra. Anapra is the slum of Ciudad Juarez and it is absolutely heartbreaking, literally built on a landfill. It seemed to me at the time that this school was pretty much the only chance those kids had at a future. And the kids- those adorable, innocent, beautiful kids. What a reminder of the richness of our own lives and how small our biggest problems really are.

And now, six years later, I am constantly reading news headlines of the violence in Juarez, of the drug cartels and senseless massacres that are ripping apart the city. Today’s headline? 18 People Killed in Ciudad Juarez. One of those a family of seven, just gunned down. It makes me sick to my stomach.

And I don’t want this to be a political post because I really do respect the other side of this issue, but what I personally took away from our week in this city is that if I were a mom living in Juarez and I could somehow find the means to illegally cross into the US to give my family a chance at a decent life or even just survival, you can bet your life that I would do it. I would do anything for Devan and Leah, absolutely anything and I can’t blame those who are wanting to escape this horrific situation for doing the same.

But even if you feel strongly against illegal immigration, which I can understand, I’m guessing you will agree with me that no one should have to live like this in a city where hundreds upon hundreds of women have been murdered and violence has become commonplace. Death after death, it’s just sickening. These people matter, their lives are important, and I wish that something could be done to stem this tide of violence.

(Does anyone have any updates on the school?)

4 responses »

  1. Yes, many updates! I went three years ago this month and it looked completely different. They have many buildings now. Antonio has a house in Anapra now too where the volunteers can stay.My mom is going in a few weeks for a week to work. I'll let you know what she says!

  2. Isn't it so sad how commonplace these news reports have become? I think reasonable people can or at least should respect both sides of the illegal immigration coin. I'm sorry to hear about the people of this city. Do you think you'll ever go back?

Leave a Reply

