5 months

Standard

(I’m sorry, Leah. Mom’s a little behind.)

I took her picture this month on the quilt that my grandmother made by hand when she was either a teenage or early twenties. This quilt is gorgeous, and it has gotten some flickr love from the Vintage Quilt group.

Leah is growing up, definitely has lost that newborn look. She is still sporatically rolling over, but nothing like Devan did. She seems to prefer to stay however we stick her and is a very laid-back baby. I sense she would LIKE to sit up, but usually ends of crunched over and munching on her feet. We’ll master it by next month, I’m sure!

She loves to eat real food, just like her older brother. I’ve pureed up all sorts of stuff (fruits and veggies) we had laying around and now have a nice little stash of frozen homemade baby food to give her. That is, if only I could remember to thaw it out before she is starving. She seems to like Beech Nut just fine though, so no problem.

I’m still nursing her. I’ve tried to wean her, it’s not as easy as one might think. I’m doing okay without medicine, but I know I would be doing better with it. And physically, I have a hard time nursing. I am pretty run down and under-weight and don’t send me hate mail until you’ve witnessed how crappy I feel (and look). I would take a few extra pounds in order to have some extra energy any day.

Her sleeping patterns aren’t as stellar as the last few months so I will not bother to brag about that. It probably has a lot to do with the fact that she has been congested for 2 weeks now. Thankfully, she doesn’t seem to mind the snot-sucker much. Which is really weird.

Our daycare provider swears to us she is teething and I agree that it seems like she is. However, I’m pretty sure babies spend the majority of their first year “teething” and it takes forever for those teeth to actually pop through. I wish it weren’t such a terrible process, but at least we have Sophie to see us through. Leah, like every other baby on the planet, LOVES Sophie.

I think that about wraps it up for this month. It’s been a crazy one, and I’m glad Leah is such a chill baby. And like I’ve told you a million times, I just love her to pieces.

Leave a Reply

