Epiphany

Standard

It came to me a little over a week ago, just as I was reading through my list of Mom Blogs and starting to feel jealous over their running/jogging/5K training/biking/marathons, etc. For all the progress I have made over the last month, I know that sort of exercise is still out of the question for me for quite awhile. And trust me, I wouldn’t want to do it except for that I know I can’t. So as I was sitting there feeling sorry for myself and wondering when are things finally going to be better?, it hit me like a ton of bricks (I do love my cliches!): I can’t wait until life is perfect to be happy.

I have more than enough reasons to live a happy life NOW. Things are never going to be perfect and I don’t want to be one of those people who always have something to complain about. We all know those people, the glass-half-empty people, the chronic Facebook whiners… I don’t want to be like that. But heck, I have a whole category of blog posts labeled “whine and cheese.” I’m not always a barrel of optimism, but this “woe is me” thinking has got to stop. My life may not be perfect (re: yesterday’s post) but it’s a darn good life and I am thankful for it.
Sunday, I walked to the neighborhood park with my two kiddos and played with them, and walked back- all without pain. Just a month ago I was thinking I would need to figure out a way to live with chronic pain. I may not be running any distances or impressing anyone with my athletic accomplishments but I can take my kids to the park. And that makes me very, very happy.
Don’t wait until life is perfect to be happy, be happy today.
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

