A small measure of success

Standard

I don’t like patterns.  I don’t like sewing clothes. 

Or so I thought, until I whipped up this cute little outfit for baby Leah from Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for Little Ones. The pattern is ‘Kimono-style PJ’s’ with a difficulty of 3. (out of 4.  Which means, it is a miracle that this project is wearable.)

Sorry for the blurry photo, my model wasn’t interested in a photo shoot.

No inside out sleeves, no puckered collar, and no botched hems so I will consider it a success.  It wasn’t all smooth sailing- there were a few issues with the elastic in the waistband, and the pants turned out to be a little “low rider” which isn’t the cutest look with a diaper sticking out the back, but I say good enough for this try. 

I’m definitely going to need to figure out how to create more room in the seat with the next pair of pants I sew, because there is no way these would fit over her cloth diaper bubble butt, but she can wear them to daycare when she is in “real” diapers, as Devan calls them.

I made Leah an outfit!! Yay! Next up, rompers and sundresses and cute ruffled pants.  Or that would be what I would make, if there were only more hours in the day.

More exciting things to come over the next few weeks.  But don’t get too excited, it’s nothing big.  Not like a baby or a move or anything of that magnitude.  So I should say, more things that I am excited about to come in the next few weeks.  Stay tuned…

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

