Lovely Little Find

Standard

 I’ve been meaning to share about my Mother’s Day present, but somehow it keeps slipping my mind.  Craig likes to surf the message boards at his work place and is constantly buying things, selling things, and forwarding me images of crap that I would never, ever buy.  At least he checks with me first!  So a lot of times I barely glance at his e-mails but this particular one caught my attention. 

A Singer sewing machine, with cabinet, $40.

I think my e-mail reply to his was something like:  BUY IT!!! BUY IT NOW!!!!  BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!!! HURRY!!!!!!

And then about 30 seconds later another e-mail, DID YOU GET IT???????  CALL ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And then 30 seconds later, I think I called him.  “Did you get it? Is it mine?”

But alas, gratification is not always instantaneous so I had to wait an entire afternoon to hear that it was in fact going to be mine. And then I waited over the weekend until he could pick it up.  For $20 as it turned out, because the guy felt guilty about asking $40 for it. The very next day I loaded it up and hauled to Missouri Sewing Machine Company over my lunch break and for $70 had it fixed up good as new. 

Craig carried it upstairs for me, we got it all set up, and in the blink on an eye a certain little person had flipped and toggled and turned about 20 different levers and buttons and knobs on the machine and now it won’t sew a darn thing. Before I even sat down to try it.

It’s been over a month since that happened and I am still waiting for some free time to read the 100+ page PDF manual to figure out what the heck I need to do to make it sew again.  Free time that I am using to blog this here post, so I hope you are all appropriately jealous of my beautiful pistachio Singer that won’t sew a single stitch. Just like my other two piece of junk machines, but that is a story for another time.

Way to go Craig, you found a treasure. 

2 responses »

  1. MAYBE, in your free time, you could call the sewing repair place and tell them what happened and ask if you brought it in if they would give you a free demonstration??? mamamarj (notice the new spelling:)

  2. I have heard that you have a sibling of some sort that is good (some say brilliant) with mechanical things and likes to figure out how to make things work. I have also heard that he works for good gluten free meals.

Leave a Reply

