The UGLY

Standard

Cancer.  Cancer is ugly. 

My Dad had the unfortnate task of calling me last week with the news that my Grandmother Pritz has cancer, and there are no treatment options at this stage.  It’s heartbreaking.  I’ve been angry (at the circumstances) and have thrown things, and now I seem to be settling in to a state of deep sadness.  The Pritz’s as a family are very pragmatic about life, but I seem to have inherited my disposition from the other side of the family and am highly emotional about all matters surronding sickness and death. The thought of saying good-bye makes me sick to my stomach, even more so than usual.

We will be heading to Wichita to visit for Labor Day, and I intent to burn rubber from KC to Wichita as I am needed.  I think back to the last weekend of July when many of us meet up at my parents for an impromptu family gathering.  We enjoyed delicious summer food, some games, and good conversation and laughter.  I’ve had a lifetime of those wonderful memories with my Grandmother, and for that I am really thankful.  She is such a special and wonderful person, and I don’t want to say good-bye. 

5 responses »

  1. It will be a difficult time for everyone (even those Pritz types who don't show much emotion). My mother has always been a "take it one day at a time" person.she will be excited to see you this week-end.Love, dad

  2. I am sorry to hear that. I will be thinking of you. I actually called you today but I am assuming you are on the road. We can get caught up next week during your traffic time 🙂 Take Care of yourself. Enjoy this weekend. I remember the goodbye weekend with my Grandpa. It is funny the small little things that stick out from that weekend.

Leave a Reply

