Heartbreak

Standard

Cancer continues it’s ugliness.

Last night Craig and I laid in bed with tears in our eyes and heavy hearts.  Craig and I are both blessed with huge, amazing, close-knit families and in times like this, we need each other.  We are left with more questions than answers as we learned that his beautiful, amazing cousin Melissa will not win her fight with cancer.  And she has fought cancer with more grace and strength than I could ever imagine possessing. 

Melissa is more than a cousin- she is a wife, a mom to five, a daughter, a granddaughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, an inspiration to so many.  Craig’s family is strong and centered in faith and will surround her with love but my heart is breaking over and over for her children, her husband, her parents, her sister and her brothers and their spouses, her nieces and nephews, her aunts and uncles, her cousins, her grandmother, her in-laws. She is loved so deeply by so many and it seems inconceivable that God is going to call her home this soon.

I don’t really know what to pray for at this point.  Acceptance?  Strength? Peace?  Whatever God can give us?  Because it just seems so incredibly unfair that we can’t pray for healing, not in this life.  And that leaves me so incredibly sad.

4 responses »

  1. I know the feeling, Elizabeth… I just have no idea what to pray… I know God still does miracles, and I suppose it is still a possibility, but, at this point it is hard to have faith in that. I just keep saying, "Oh God, Oh God, Oh God…" I know He knows what we need way more than we do- so I will just cry out and let Him figure it out… Tabetha

  2. I am sorry. That's about all I know how to say after reading this. I am happy though, that you all have each other to lean on – family is such a blessing. I am thinking of you with a heavy heart, and know God is close by too.

Leave a Reply

