FOUR

Standard

I’ve been slacking on the blog like crazy and what do you know? It’s October already.  Which means that my little guy is no longer 3.  Which is so hard to believe. I am very thankful for his September birthday, it means we get two more years before I have to send him off to kindergarten. I don’t think I could stand doing it next year. How do parents send their kids off to college?  I don’t think I can do that either! Don’t laugh at me, it’s going to happen before I know it, I’ve been told. 

Anyways, Devan turned FOUR.  We kept it low key this year, we were afraid he was starting to expect that a huge neighborhood block party is just the way we do birthday’s around here.  We were right.  He kept asking if anyone was coming over and why couldn’t he have a FUN cake with gluten in it.  In retrospect, I should have thrown him a party.  You only have so many birthdays in your life, right?  Hopefully he won’t remember this, or at the very least, won’t be scarred for life.

Devan, your parents love you SOOOO much, even if we were big meanies and didn’t throw you a giant party for your fourth birthday.  I thought the gluten free brownies with blue buttercream frosting was a good cake substitute, and I was wrong.  Please forgive me.  Love, Your Mommy

Maybe those brownies weren’t so bad after all…

p.s. But I do buy AND let you wear character t-shirts, even for big events like birthdays, even when it’s a threadbare Thomas shirt, and even though I personally can’t really stand character shirts.  THAT’S how much I love you.

Leave a Reply

