Decisions

Standard

I’m halfway through my antibiotics, and I still have a rock hard lump in my neck that might even be just the tiniest bit bigger.  I’m realizing I have two options at this point:

A.  Allow the parotidectomy, potentially damaging my facial nerves, requiring a hospital stay and at least a week of recovery.  And a four inch scar.  Then there is the potential that the problem will reoccur due to the lingering infection in my jaw. 

B.  Go to the source of the problem, the jaw infection, and clean it out.  Requiring either a repeat root canal (out of pocket) or a surgery to expose the jaw bone, requiring a weeks hospital stay and feeding tube, weeks of iv antibiotics, and a month or so of recovery.  And a scar.

These options both really suck, which is why I am putting them off for awhile longer yet, and am going to attempt to find a doctor who will give me an option C, hopefully not requiring any scalpels or hospitals. Can’t they just inject something in there to fix it? It’s 2011!  This is ridiculous.

And in the meantime, I’m doing acupuncture.  Do I believe in it?  No.  Not really.  Not at all, actually.  But I figure that doesn’t matter much, it is a rather objective issue at this point.  Either the lymph node gets smaller, or it doesn’t.  And if there happens to be a placebo effect that makes me feel better about this whole situation, then so much the better.  I figure it’s worth a shot.  I’ll take the herbs, the supplements, the drugs, whatever works. Someone else suggested medical marijuana.  If I thought that might help, I would absolutely do it, no question.  However, there isn’t much evidence that marijuana will shrink a lymph node or cure a bone infection so I will stick to the rest of this crap. Something has to work, right?  Because after 3 months, this has gotten incredibly old.  

4 responses »

  1. Elizabeth- I'm so sorry this has continued to plague you! I can't imagine what you are going through, but I wish I could take the pain away. Please let me know how I can help. Hope you are able to enjoy Thanksgiving and spend it with family!~ April

  2. I, too, am very sorry to hear your meds aren't really helping 😦 I did just want to interject to tell you that I swear by acupuncture. Granted, I was doing it for anxiety reasons and not for pain so your outcome may be different. I could tell a difference after my first few sessions and wished insurance would cover it so I could afford to continue going!! Either way, I'm thinking of you and sending hugs!

Leave a Reply

