The Happy Ending

Standard

I know I haven’t written in awhile, and I am sorry about that.  Nothing extraordinary going on here, thank goodness, I’m just getting back in the swing of our regualr schedule.  Making dinners, back to work, playing with the kids.  I have felt so much better in the past two weeks that it is amazing.  I wouldn’t say I’m 100%, but I’m not sure I’ve ever been 100%.  Whatever this is, if feels pretty good.

Today has been a fabulous day, even if it did start off with Leah mauling Devan with scissors, cutting four of his fingers badly enough to gush blood.  That’s just life with kids.  Following that little mishap, we went to my doctor for a final checkup where she declared I looked better than she has ever seen me.  I told her I felt better than I have in a long time, and she thought my incision looked fabulous, even if it is still leaking fluid (seroma, totally normal I guess. Still ew.)  I have an ENT follow up at KU on Tuesday and then, my friends, I am DONE.  DONE, DONE, DONE with this.  No more appointments on the calendar until a follow up scan months down the road.  I did it, it’s over, I can move on.  It feels fabulous.

I followed that happy appointment with a quick trip to the Hy-Vee next door for some gluten free lucious lemon cake and chocolate cupcakes from Kneaded Specialities.  After seeing everyone’s Valentines treats on Facebook, I needed to indulge.  It’s been all I can think about and the cupcake was fabulous. The cake was good too.  I tried both before we left the parking lot.

We arrived home and the kids enjoyed playing outside in this fabulous weather while I chatted with the neighbors.  Lunch, more cake, ordered 10 yards of fabric plus a FLEA MARKET FANCY!!!!! bundle for $115 shipped, and put both kids to bed.  I’m on a shoppers high right now, and a sugar high, and a “I don’t have any current health crisis at the moment” high.  Life feels pretty sweet.

So, looking back at this whole ordeal, I’ve learned that cliches become cliches because there is so much truth to them.  NEVER tell someone a cliche when they are in the midst of a crisis, but feel free to share them afterwards because then, a person can relate.  “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”  It does, it really does.  It sounds contrived, but the world seems so incredibly beautiful to me right now.  I’ve been appreciating the gorgeous winter skies, the ability to work, my fabulous children, even our disaster of a house. I get up each day and I feel so thankful for the day, and little stuff seems little in a way that I can hardly describe.  I didn’t even need a near-death expereince to benefit from this mood shift, just a darn good scare. And some good drugs.  Legal drugs.

I’m praising God for the respite from stress and hurt, and I can’t help but to hope it lasts a really long time.

4 responses »

  1. I agree with Marj. So glad you are feeling blessed and enjoying your little kiddos! If I could go back to when my kids were little, I would do it in a heartbeat. Enjoy them Elizabeth. Time flies so so fast. I’m glad God has been with you all along this journey and showered you with blessings today! Love you. Carol

Leave a Reply

