#24, for baby Andersen

Standard

Two of my friends are having second babies this May.  The are due two days apart, and their eldest are both boys, both named Weston.  I think that’s pretty cool.  Baby quilts are quick and gratifying, so I decided to take a break from the Swoon quilt’s slow progress (I am dragging out just to torture myself I think, others have made 2 or 3 Swoon quilts in the time I’ve made 6 BLOCKS.) and do something FUN to celebrate the two sweet new babies that will be arriving any day now!

This quilt was made for baby Andersen.  I didn’t have a theme in mind per say, I just wanted a color scheme that felt a little vintage.  I love mustards and light aquas so I started there and then added in darker colors for punch.  I was able to use some of my favorite, coveted fabrics on this one- such as the mendocino kelp forest, and Amy Butler’s duck eggs.  I realize this means nothing unless you are a fabric nerd.  The piecing and quilting are simple, straight line quilting and straight rows of straight blocks.  I didn’t measure it, but I would guess it is pretty close to a standard baby quilt size.  Perfect for floor time and travel.

I’m in love with this quilt, and I hope baby Andersen loves it to.

Creepy Fingers!

The backing is a lovely cream crosshatch, and somehow I’ve managed to forget the fabric line name. There’s a first for everything I suppose.

Love these labels! But, it’s baby Andersen, not Anderson. Go me.

2 responses »

  1. Oh Elizabeth – this is soooo cute!!! After reading your previous post I am not sure how you have the energy, but I assume this is a theraputic release for you 😉 Baby quilts make me smile!

Leave a Reply

