A few random thoughts and a few favorite things

Standard

I’ve been writing lots of funny, inspiration, touching, and profound blog posts… in my head, when I’m trying to get to sleep.  I have a feeling they wouldn’t be nearly as impressive if I actually committed the words to type at 11pm, so I’ll just continue to be impressed with my ability in my head.  As for an actual blog post, I’m afraid you will be stuck with the rather unimpressive ramblings that are on my mind this morning, I will apologize in advance.

I had a rather gory run-in with my sewing machine yesterday, snapping off a needle in my finger as I was free motion quilting.  There were tiny bits of bone fragments in the blood that was oozing out, and it hurts way more that what I think it should, given how small a needle is.  Thankfully, the injury is on the side of my finger so life will go on.  I will never understand how so many advocate a glass of wine while quilting, I can only imagine the disaster that would result if I tried such a thing.

We have been pounded with snow.  I wasn’t very impressed when the forecasters said last week that it will be the worst snowstorm in two years.  They are usually rather skilled at whipping up a frenzy over nothing, so given that we barely had a winter last year the threat seemed small.  As it turns out, it’s probably the largest snowstorm in my memory once all is said and done, and I think we are going to be stuck with piles of the stuff for weeks.  There is no way we can get out on the deck, and Craig has had his fill of shoveling the driveway.  However,  I am glad I purchased the kids snow gear on sale last year, just in case.  They love this mess!!

IMG_0153

How about some random favorites now?

1. Brookside Dark Chocolate and fruit.  These come in multiple flavors and are the best sweet treat EVER.  You HAVE to try them.  I find them at the local Hen House, but I think I’ve also seen them at Trader Joe’s.

2. SHADE clothing.  Have I mentioned this before?  They have great basics that are made well, and killer sales, plus free shipping!  I almost hate to give away my secret, but the deals are too good not to share.

3. Lego Friends.  If you have a young girl, these are so awesome.  Leah is too young for Legos so I’ve been buying them for myself.  We love Lego night at our house!

4.  Pinterest.  Why did I wait so long to join?  Pinterest is the best!!  I’m guessing my fellow pinners have begin to notice my obsession with bunnies.  Thanks to Pinterest, I’ve discovered there is a island in Japan that is full of wild yet friendly rabbits.  Herds of rabbits.  I searched ‘rabbit island’ on youtube and spent an inordinate amount of time watching bunny videos last night.  Thank you pinterest for being such an enjoyable time-waster!

That’s it for now, I’m off to entertain my stir-crazy kids with some pinterest inspired crafting…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

