What a day.

Standard

So, I had decided not to write about work on the blog. I am going to redefine that now. I am not going to write specifically about work. But I will write about it in general. In general, there was a big shake-up yesterday involving a fellow coworker who happens to be at a much higher level than I, who also happens to be more or less my boss on the project I was working on, who was just let go. I have such mixed feelings about it all that I just don’t really know what to think. Sure, I complained about this person from time to time. I excuse that by saying it is human nature. But all in all, I liked this person and am sad to see things happen this way. That, and I am pretty sure this equals more work for me.. but that is incredibly selfish and I can’t believe I just wrote it. So in general, things are a little tense around here. There is definitely an elephant in the office that no one is mentioning. So this is one of my less sane moments. When I ask myself again if this is really what I want to do, and are all of the sacrifices worth it, and am I truly happy here, and how much longer I can get up and do this every day. And I ask myself also, why everyone puts down what I really want to do, including myself to be honest. Just because people in my profession think only the LA drop outs do what I want to do doesn’t mean that there aren’t other people who would value it. And if I am happy, and if I am good at what I do, isn’t there value in that? Why do I let the opinions of others (that I most likely will not even speak to in 10 years) drive what I do with my life? Why do I care so much about what others think?

Leave a comment